Virtual Program Exchange

Do you want to explore the different environments of North America? With the Association of Nature Center Administrators (ANCA) Virtual Program Exchange, you can learn about the waters of the Pacific Coast, the birds of the eastern deciduous forest, the plants of the Great Plains, and so much more!

As part of this Exchange, nature and environmental learning centers throughout the continent invite you to join their virtual programs — see the calendar below to find a program that's right for you. Whether you're an adult or child in need of remote learning opportunities, there's plenty of nature to discover.

The calendar automatically displays one week at a time. Use the arrows or the search box below to adjust the dates.

May 14 2021 - May 20 2021

Virtual Spring Faire

Date Sunday, May 16 2021
Virtual Program Exchange

Time:  10am AKT  /  11am PT  /  12pm MT  /  1pm CT  /  2pm ET
Host Organization:  Environmental Learning Center — Newport Beach, CA
Price:  Free

Join the fun at our 16th Annual Spring Faire! Embark on a virtual “Craft Crawl” and “Story Walk”. Play virtual nature games, and watch performances around the virtual “Fire Circle Stage”. Learn more here.

FYI Naturalist: Snakes of Warner Park

Tuesday, May 18 2021
Virtual Program Exchange

Time:  4pm PT  /  5pm MT  /  6pm CT  /  7pm ET
Host Organization:  Warner Park Nature Center — Nashville, TN
Price:  Free

Age level: Adults, 13+

Snakes are the objects of both fear and curiosity. Let’s explore their unique characteristics and review the species found in Warner Park. Register here.

Leader: Kim Bailey

The Photographer's Cookbook

Wednesday, May 19 2021
Virtual Program Exchange

Time: 5:30pm PT  /  6:30pm MT  /  7:30pm CT  /  8:30pm ET
Host Organization:  
North Cascades Institute — Sedro Woolley, WA
Price: 
$15

You finally got that fancy digital camera you've wanted for so long, and now you're ready to capture wonderful places, colorful cultures, and breathtaking scenery. To make the processes of shooting and curating your photos simple, Seattle-area photographer Juan Aguilera will show you how to approach the work as though you were using recipes from a cookbook. Looking at...

The Humane Gardener: Nurturing Habitat for Wildlife

Thursday, May 20 2021
Virtual Program Exchange

Time:  4:30pm PT  /  5:30pm MT  /  6:30pm CT  /  7:30pm ET
Host Organization:  Irvine Nature Center — Owings Mills, MD
Price:  $20 (or less if you register for multiple events in Irvine's "Eat, Drink & Learn" series)

Why do we call some insects “beneficial” while others are “pests”? Why do we welcome some larger animals to our garden while calling others “nuisances”? Why are some plants considered “desirable” while others are “weeds”? In this myth-busting talk, learn how common growing methods divide the natural...

Who Is That Singing?

Thursday, May 20 2021
Virtual Program Exchange

Time:  6am AKT  /  7am PT  /  8am MT  /  9am CT  /  10am ET
Host Organization:  Beaver Creek Reserve — Fall Creek, WI
Price:  Free

Come spend the morning with Beaver Creek Reserve and learn about birds’ songs. This weekly talk will highlight a handful of common birds you are likely to hear this time of year in your own neighborhood. During this one-hour presentation we will introduce you to birding by ear. We will discuss the basics of why birds sing, listen to a handful of bird calls and share some hints to...

If you find this calendar useful, please consider a donation to ANCA.